My Second Part Time Stint

As some of you might know, I’m now working part time doing data entry at a multinational company that manufactures bearings.

I figured I needed to do SOMETHING with the amount of time I had in my hands and the best way to do something about it was to earn a little pocket money. RM8 an hour is not bad considering that all I need to do is to key in data in front of the computer. My last part time stint involved standing, smiling, folding clothes and punching numbers on the cash register for RM30 a day and it wasn’t really exhilarating. This one isn’t too, but at least I’m earning RM3 more for every hour I work. 😛

I arrived at the office building on Monday to be told that my superior had taken an MC and I had no further instructions but to set for home instead. (Menjalara – Sungai Buluh)2 = 20 km worth of petrol spent and I returned home without a penny earned! I would be lying if I said I wasn’t miffed. And to think that I drove 10km out and back! Through a bustling city and fast traffic with car drivers who don’t signal before they cut into my lane and cars tailing freakingly close to me just to petrify me. Okay la, even though I didn’t get to work but at least I tried driving out. Yayness.

On the second day, I was given a 130 page book and instructed to key in the current products price list. By noon, I was dying to get out already. Lunch time came and I was introduced to some of my colleagues who were friendly and down-to-earth. I tried joining in conversations that didn’t involve dealing with customers and account handling. I complimented a colleague’s Crocodile sequined sandals instead. Oh, and I found out that I can’t gain access to my email, YouTube, any gossip blogs, music sites and streaming videos because they’re all blocked. 😦 How can?! I can’t survive just with Excel! I’m starting to miss my old intern company. *sob*

I sustained a major papercut injury on the third day when I tried to flip open my 130 page price listing book. A papercut! In god knows how many years that I’ve been around sketch papers, art blocks and documents and now I get a papercut injury that wouldn’t stop bleeding! On my middle finger nonetheless. Now I get to flip off at people while moaning and showing off my poor injured finger.

Today’s the fourth day at work and I’ve been sensible enough to bring along a pen drive worth of songs to occupy myself while I go about this mundane business of punching letters and numbers on Microsoft Excel. So while I’m nodding my head off to Bixby Canyon Bridge I can still faintly hear my colleagues chattering away in a smattering of Hokkien and Cantonese in the background.

“Orh, ahn nee kuan mai chap siao ee lar. Lu baa lu fax guei ker.” (Oh, then don’t bother about him, You fax it over now.) Thank goodness I know the dialect, else I’m not sure how I’m going to fit in here.

Oh yeah, everybody loves Uncle Lim around here. They always holler to him affectionately from the other end of the office.

*By the way, I can’t online message in the office either. So pardon my absence from the online chat sphere.

4 Comments

Filed under Oh! Woe, Work

4 responses to “My Second Part Time Stint

  1. biT

    What amuses me is that you DROVE to and fro. Good on ya girl. At least someone’s doing something worthwhile and not staying at home with a timebomb that sets off at any random moment.

    Oh, Ivan interested for the job?

  2. Charlie Sparks

    Yeah yeah! I freaking drove! Omg it’s such a revelation!

    On another note, the office admin post is a full time one. So I don’t think he’s eager for it anytime soon.

  3. haze

    who is bit???
    i hope u like ur job ya.. good luck ma mao mao..

    ps. i scalded my leg with boiling oil.. got injection.. so pain… luckily my leg is not nice to begin with.

  4. Charel

    bit is mystichang la. lol, i doing this not out of passion but necessity. Survival overrules job satisfaction. 😛

    mao, be more careful around oil. it must hurt like hell. get well soon yeah 🙂

Leave a Reply

