To mum dearest, Melbourne Day 1 (Part 1)

“Landed at Melbourne Airport and Boyfriend’s sister picked us up.

We went to Lygon Street to have lunch. Italian food at Villa Romana. I had Risotto Pescatora and Cafe Latte. Generous portion, albeit too big for me. I couldn’t finish my food. The risotto was $19.90 with plenty of fresh prawns, scallops, fish and calamari. GOOD FOOD! I had a taste of their local lager called Cascade, which was so much better than Tiger back at home. It was very smooth I don’t think I’ll mind having one myself. Don’t worry, I won’t drink myself silly here.

Next, we strolled down probably two blocks away for coffee at a place called Brunetti. I ordered Coppa Tiramisu (Coffee tiramisu with coffee liquor) and New York Cheesecake. The cheesecake was FABULOUS! Rich cheese and delicious with every bite. You’d absolutely love it. I was so full after the risotto but I couldn’t bear wasting the cakes. The tiramisu was really good too, hints of liquor but not very heavy. Ordered a cup of cappucino. The cakes were $5.90 each, and Brunetti had a wall of designer postcards.

The streets are filled with buildings in bricks, very earthy colours with a splash of vibrant yellow, green or red here and there. When I walked by street corners, I could see some of the buildings had worn brick walls with rusty pipeworks. Nice!

It’s 5.08PM now, three hours earlier than in KL. Pretty smashed now but my mind’s still racing because there are lots of sights to take in. The flight was long and tiring coz there was this kid who wouldn’t stop howling during the flight. Couldn’t sleep at all, but I managed forty winks here and there.

I’ll probably head down a while later. Will update when I’m free. Photos will have to wait, sorry! I haven’t bought credit for the prepaid SIM card yet so I haven’t been able to call anyone. Will find time to later.

That’s it for now. Ta!”

– Pardon the choppy sentence structures! I don’t tend to write like a literary genius when I’m composing an email to my mum.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Going Places

Leave a Reply

